About the Diocese

The Diocese of Helena was established on March 7, 1884, and initially included the entire state of Montana. Its present boundaries were established on May 18, 1904, when the Diocese of Great Falls (now Great Falls-Billings) was formed from its territory. The diocese covers 51,922 square miles of western and north central Montana, encompassing 21 counties and parts of two others. The diocese’s 57 parishes and 38 missions are structured into six deaneries: Bozeman, Butte, Conrad, Helena, Kalispell, and Missoula. Its diocesan church is the Cathedral of St. Helena, which was dedicated in 1914 and is located in Helena.

Click to Enlarge

Parishes and Missions

  • Parishes: 57, Missions: 38
    • Registered households: 17,241
    • Catholics registered in the parishes: 44,413
    • Children and youth enrolled in religious education: 3,498


Catholic Education

Permanent Diaconate

  • Number of Permanent Deacons: 35
    • Active Permanent Deacons: 17
    • Senior Status Deacons: 18
    • Permanent Deacon Ages
      • Age 50 to 59: 4
      • Age 60 to 69: 13
      • Age 70 and over: 18

Religious Serving in the Diocese